New years resolution/ How to journal

I started writing in a journal when my mom bought me one in sixth grade. Since then I can’t remember a time where I didn’t put my thoughts onto paper. It’s interesting because on Pinterest and other google links, people always talk about writing in your journal for ten minutes a day or a full page. Saying that there are so many benefits to it, like creating mindfulness, and even helping you realize and reach your goals. So I found out that I’ve been doing this super healthy thing for a huge portion of my life and didn’t even realize. This is why I’m probably really emotional, and tend to write poetry and so forth.

This post is not about my emotions though. It’s about how I’ve kept a diary for the last six years. And I truly have. One of my friends asked me one day on how to get into journaling, initially I was taken back. How could I do this for so long but not know how to answer a simple question about it? After doing some brainstorming I think this time around I can finally answer the basics for journaling 101.

You will need a journal that you think is lovely. Because this will be another home to you for the next six months to even a year. This depends on how big you write mainly. Once you have this home, write your name in the front. I’ve always done this, and I usually follow with the time of year. After I graduated high-school my new journal was labeled “Summer after high school 2017”. By doing this when you read through them in the future you can quickly indicate this special time in your life.

The first day, your pen goes to paper. Maybe not the first day ever, but this is a new journey that you and your journal are now taking together. On the first page write the date at the top, in whatever fashion you want. If you feel lost on what to write take a breath and I’ll give you a few ideas/tips. Think about what you did today, any sort of emotion that you have experienced in the last few hours. This is your inspiration for your writing. I’m going to write something I actually wrote in my personal journal, just in case you need some extra direction.

September 19, 2017

Life has improved a lot since Sunday. I went to a yoga class this morning. And I did some research into getting a work visa in Australia. Which I am going to start saving for. From here on out I am only going to spend money on gas for this month. Hopefully I can go to Australia in 18 months. So a year and a half. I want to try to save $20,000.

This is one of my most optimistic and positive pages I have written in my journal. Most things I write can be sort of sad, because this is how I get out those emotions. I believe journaling is honestly great to get into. Because as long as you have a pen and paper you can do it. It’s a very easy and rewarding hobby. It will just take time to get into the habit of writing everyday. However, don’t stress or panic if you miss a day. I’ve gone a week or more without writing. And it’s totally okay!

Once you have been journaling for awhile you can look back and read about your own life. It’s almost as if you now have a book of your history. That include raw emotions, and experiences. One of the best feelings ever is to read about such a special and happy memory that you wouldn’t have remembered unless you wrote it down. It’s such a special gift you can give yourself. I hope in the new year, you can give yourself this special rewarding gift.

-Jess

One thought on “New years resolution/ How to journal”

Leave a comment