Updated capsule wardrobe / it’s not boring anymore

This is my closet, all my winter shit hung up for everyone to see. And let me just say that I’m very proud. I think I’m starting to get my shit together when it comes to my wardrobe. It’s really starting to all make sense to me. At the beginning of my minimalist journey I was actually quite lost. Now I’m not as confused by the whole thing. It’s easy to copy other capsule wardrobes because of the internet. Which I loved at first, I was wearing very simple outfits. I felt good in them for a long time actually. Then I watched this video on YouTube about why clothes are important. And I felt quite sad after it. Because I had a realization that I was taking away all the fun about wearing clothing. So my initial instinct was to go shopping. But of course I’m a minimalist so I went in with a game plan.

I even spent a couple days thinking this over. Was I really going to bring more items into my wardrobe? Going against everything I believed in? Against every thing I obsessed over the last couple months? And the answer to this is yes! I built up the courage and went to the mall. This time around I wasn’t going to grab the first basic ass color print. Because I already have enough of those. What’s missing is patterns and textures along with more playful colors. I only bought a few things, in all honesty to most people this wouldn’t be a huge shopping experience. But this was to me.

In total I spent around $60. However, I got a lot of extra money from Christmas so I wasn’t spending my working money. So I didn’t feel too guilty about it.

anyways I finally feel a lot more like myself. I like wearing fun patterns and colors because I feel like life is too short not too. It works better when I don’t try to dress in any style, I just put together items that feel right to me. I think that’s what fashion should encourage.

-Jess

Leave a comment